And then what?

“My life has no purpose, no direction, no aim, no meaning, and yet I’m happy. I can’t figure it out. What am I doing right?”  Charles M. Shulz

I know, I know, it might seem a bit premature to start indulging thoughts of New Year’s Eve, especially for those of you that have yet to give ANY thought at all to the madness/deliciousness that is Christmas.  But here I go…

This morning, I had a long Skype call with a lovely friend.  It has been a while, both of us busy with lives that revolve around work, kids, husbands, family and the million other details that equal = ‘collapse into bed each night’”.  My relationship with her goes way back.  She has seen all aspects of me, and I know, loves me anyway (not easy, but she makes it look like fun).  And, she has a magical power, a power so amazing that it should be launched on the New York Stock Exchange.

The power to make me step up.

There, I said it.  Her gentle words and prods, remind me of where I am in life, and where I need to go.  A chat with her can make my self-esteem go off the Richter Scale.  All thoughts of self doubt, misery and failure just fly away.

So, I say to myself, Where Am I Going"?  What is the next step on the path of life?

I like a challenge.  I like a reason to jump out of bed in the morning.  I like a project.  A purpose.

I need a job.  Or I need to create a job.

How about I write a book?  Maybe a column, something witty and worthy of comment.  End up on the New York Times Bestseller List?  That would be good…

Lucy 

“Highly recommended!” Time Magazine.  “Couldn’t stop laughing.” Vogue, London.  “A delight! Should be made a national treasure!” The Observer.  “Where has she been hiding? Wonderful stuff.”  The New Yorker.

 

 

Shame Oprah is closing up shop, because an invite to her Book Club would do the trick.

I’d like a mailbag full of fan post.  Even better, I could write an ‘Agony Aunt’ column.  Most of my life I have been called a Know-it-All, what better way to put that all to good use.  How about coming up with an idea like Frank at PostSecret.  He gets 200-300 postcards a day, has published four books and is on the speaking circuit.  Now, I could rock that.

Or I suppose I could teach English.  Sure to find takers here.  But as I have just had a bit of a run in with Miss 8’s English teacher.. perhaps I should step carefully. Scout out the territory first… don’t want to tread on any toes.

What else?  Don’t you just admire people who find their passion early in life, people that sleep, eat and breath their craft.  People who tap out tunes in their sleep, or doodle on every cocktail napkin.  Amazing women, who have managed to turn their family recipes into multi-million dollar earnings. Hmm, that sounds good.

Making money.  Then I could be a philanthropist.  Giving it all away.  That appeals.  Yes, when I grow up, I want to be Lulu the Philanthropist. 

Yep.. that will do.

And if that doesn’t work out?  Well, I will just be famous, or a fire fighter, or a train driver…. or a Lion tamer.

Leave a Reply

